Mortality

Remind Yourself That You Can Die When Your Ego Blinds You

Every day we're granted 24 hours, a non-renewable resource that once it's gone, it's gone forever. I'm anxious about time, to say the least. It's difficult for me to ignore the reality of mortality, worrying of dying from cancer.

Cancer will kill you. Did you know that one in four dogs die from cancer? I could have googled how many humans are affected, but I don't want to know. Should I love life & accept my fate when I know the odds? Or is the idea that knowing your odds helps you understand equilibrium?

When my father died from cancer, I was angry. I had been angry before his death & continue to feel anger hereafter. Elisabeth Kübler-Ross proposed five stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression & acceptance. It's important to remember that these stages are not linear. Each individual's journey is unique, and they may move back & forth between these stages. Here's to accepting my own distinguished paradox of anger.

The only cure for grief is to grieve.❞

— Earl Grollman

Actionable Items:

  • Memento mori (Latin for 'remember that you [have to] die')

  • Amor fati (Latin for 'love of one's fate')

  • Accept grief

Grace & peace,