Narcissism

The World Is at Your Fingertips; The World Is Not in Your Hands

I finished building the Lego Star Wars Millennium Falcon. RollerCoaster Tycoon 2 loading screen was stuck on the family PC. I remember yelling at my mother because she only got three mozzarella sticks. I wanted & expected more. Do you hear yourself? You sound entitled. You're privileged & unreasonable. You are throwing a tantrum at your mother, the one who feeds you. Express gratitude & empathy more often.

All the times you looked into your parents' eyes, screaming, "I hate you!" Nothing could have prepared you for the feeling of your own son yelling at you the same way.

In a Boy Scouts talent show, I attempted to sing "Adam's Song" by Blink 182 to impress my father. Unfortunately, I forgot the lyrics & ran offstage. He & I loved that song. He never realized how much time I spent trying to impress him. It's irrelevant because he showed me unconditional love. I didn't have to try to make him proud; he loved me no matter what.

Richard, my son, I love you no matter what.

It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men.❞

— Frederick Douglass

Actionable Items:

  • Listen to “Adam's Song” by Blink 182

  • Tell Mother the mozzarella sticks were not her fault

  • Practice empathy

Grace & peace,