Redemption

Teaching my Son the Power of Love through My Own Transformation

It feels like yesterday I walked into Arby's to meet your mother. I was there for a job, but I couldn't resist flirting with her. We fell in love, started a family & so on. We shared this story with you at dinner yesterday & today we're fighting right beside you, my son.

The way a person treats the mother of their child will influence how that child treats loved ones in the future. I made the mistake of gaslighting. She didn't cause my anger & I was already prone to yelling. She has shown immense patience & resilience by putting up with me.

My parents instilled love in me & I saw what a loving relationship should look like. However, it seems as though I never learned from my upbringing. I act as ignorantly as someone who has never experienced love & I treat the mother of my son horribly.

I can be the man she deserves & I can show my son how to love.

One of the greatest things a father can do for his children,” Howard W. Hunter once said, “is to love their mother.❞

— Ryan Holiday

Actionable Items:

  • Read “The Daily Dad” by Ryan Holiday

  • Practice active listening & patience

  • Remember that actions speak louder than words

Grace & peace,