Spirituality

A Faith Beyond Gods

In the beginning was the universe & the world was with the gods & the gods were the world. The cosmos was singular & plural, with all gods being manifestations of fate. Looking up to the sky, one might see Zeus reigning with thunder. Evolution surpasses creation, supplanting the narratives crafted by humans.

My Father & both my Grandfathers preached & died holding onto their theological beliefs. My Mother is a storyteller & theatre director, overseeing a stage of fictional drama. She has worked for the church twice in the past.

For a long time, I placed blame on god for my father's death. It took me years to reconcile my emotions & let go of my faith in organized religion. I fled from the church & the notion of sacrifice. Seeking faith without a specific god but with a focus on humanism & shared values. From the amplituhedron to Gödel's incompleteness theorems. We face perpetual uncertainty of whether to embrace atheism or agnosticism. The vast expanse of unknowns in science leaves space for theories of literal shapes. Religion & this enigmatic shape clash in the paradox of life we all yearn to comprehend.

The question arises: do we need structured religion to discern right from wrong, or does it lead us astray?

History began when humans invented gods, and will end when humans become gods…❞

— Yuval Noah Harari

Actionable Items:

  • Reflect on personal beliefs

  • Research the topics mentioned

  • Encourage critical thinking

Grace & peace,